



## **NIAAA News and Information**

### News and Updates

- All NIAAA members should have received their complimentary copy of the new NIAAA Hazing DVD "Dying to Belong." More than 8000 copies were sent to members.
- A new and enhanced NIAAA website is scheduled to be unveiled shortly.
- The Jim Teff Professional Development Achievement Award has been created to honor Jim through the promotion of professional development. This award will be given to a state coordinator (either Certification or LTI) who developed and implemented a new initiative in their state. Please see attachment. Anyone or any state interested in financially contributing to this award can do so by sending their designated contribution to the NIAAA.

# Section Meeting/National Conference

- The Section 1 meeting will be held on Sunday, December 16 from 1:00-2:30 p.m. Please encourage conference attendees from you state to attend this meeting.
- Section 1 will again have a hospitality suite at the National Conference hosted by New Jersey. At our section meeting in March, we agreed to work with Bob Hopek to staff the suite throughout the conference.

#### Awards

Congratulations again to the following award winners who will be recognized at the 2012 National Conference in San Antonio.

- 2012 Award of Merit **Dennis Fries**  Frank Kovaleski Professional Development Award Fred Smith
- Thomas E. Frederick Award
- 2012 Distinguished Service Award
  - Susan Robbins
  - o Ted D'Alessio
  - o Michael Hart
  - o Tommy Marshall
  - o James Brown
  - o Bob Reznicek
  - o James Brown
  - o Karen Higel
  - Kendra Tomsic 0
  - o Cliff Hill
- NFHS Citation
  - o Dennis Kiah
  - o Dr. Carol Chory
  - o Andy Chiles
  - Larry Moklestad
  - o Michael Purdy
  - o Diane Shuck
  - o Cindy Riley
  - o Tim Graham
- Hall of Fame
  - o Jeff Dietze, VA
  - o Gerry Durgin, ME
  - Robert Hopek, NJ
  - o William Mayo, AR
  - o Marquis Ross, ID
  - o Kenneth Shultz, IL
  - o Wayne Taylor, FL
  - o Dr. Thomas Hallstrom, NE
  - o Virgil Sasso, NJ
  - Otis Sennett, NY

Award winners will be honored at the conference luncheon on December 17 or conference banquet on December 18.

Scott Lindgren

#### **Future Board Positions**

- Taking office, December 19, 2012, in San Antonio, TX: Section 2 – Karl Heimbach, MD, replacing Phil Rison, KY Section 5 – Lane Green, KS, replacing Dory Smith, MO Section 8 – Mark Horak, OR, replacing Gary DeGooyer, MT Region B At Large – Brent Cook, IA or Mark Armstrong, NE, replacing Rich Bechard, KS
- Taking office, December 18, 2013, in Anaheim, CA: Section 3 – Paul Pendleton, TN, replacing Roy Turner, NC Section 6 – Sandra Howell, TX, replacing Mike Snyder, OK Region A At Large – TBD replacing Andy Chiles, FL (Sect 3) NEDC Representative replacing Bill Bowers
- Taking office, December 17, 2014, National Harbor, MD:

Section 1 – Maine, replacing Trish Witkin, CT

Section 4 – Wisconsin, replacing Ken Mohney, MI

Section 7 – Arizona, replacing Jean Ashen, CA

Region C At Large – TBD replacing Tim Graham, WA (Sect 8)

### 02.0861 Procedures for Election of At-Large Members

- 1. Based on region areas (multiple sections), candidates will be grouped as follows:
  - Region A Sections I-II-III
  - Region B Sections IV-V
  - Region C Sections VI-VII-VIII
- 2. Each section will screen and subsequently elect one candidate.
- 3. Every state is eligible to nominate an at-large candidate except those states represented by a section board member whose section board term will overlap the term of the at-large candidate.
- 4. As terms expire, the affected region would again nominate one at-large candidate per section for the Board of Directors, with the NIAAA members in attendance at the national conference then electing a candidate for a full three-year term.
- 5. Candidates are placed in nomination during a section meeting.
- 6. A section may not nominate a candidate who has previously served on the Board of Directors.
- If any current member of the Credentials Committee runs for an at-large board position, he/she shall remove themselves from any committee election procedure.

# National Conference Schedule

- 2012 National AD Conference in San Antonio December 14-18
- 2013 National AD Conference in Anaheim December 13 -17
- 2014 National AD Conference in National Harbor, Maryland December 12-16

### 2013 Section 1 State Conference Schedule

	<b>.</b>		
•	Connecticut	March 21-22	Rocky Hill Marriott
•	Maine	April 2-5	Rockport Samoset Resort
•	Massachusetts/RI	March 19-22	Hyannis Resort & Conference Center
•	New Hampshire	May 22-24	North Conway Red Jacket Resort
•	New Jersey	March 17-21	Atlantic City Trump Plaza
•	New York	March 13-16	Saratoga Springs Hilton
•	Vermont	March 24-26	Burlington Sheraton
•	Summer Institute	June 30 – July 3	Ocean Edge Resort, Brewster, MA
2013 Section 1 Meeting			

 New Hampshire May 22 Time TBD North Conway Red Jacket Resort

# **October, 2012 Board Minutes**

# Addendum A

# Jim Teff Achievement Recognition for Professional Development

Each year at the July board meeting, the NIAAA Board of Directors will select <u>one</u> State Coordinator (either Certification or LTI) who developed and implemented a new initiative in their state in the area of professional development during the previous school year. This initiative must be innovative, must be recognized nationally as a best practice and must have benefited the athletic administrators in that state or nationally. Nominations may be submitted by individual NIAAA members or state association boards and must be received in the NIAAA office by July 1 for consideration.

- a. Recipient will receive a <u>\$1,000</u> scholarship to assist with expenses to attend the national conference
- b. Recipient's state will receive scholarships for <u>three</u> individuals to each take one complimentary course taught in that state

This award does not have to be selected each year. Funding for this recognition will come from the Jim Teff Professional Development Memorial Fund established by the NIAAA Board of Directors for the express purpose of this recognition. **Contributions so designated for this memorial should be sent to the NIAAA office.** 

At such time that the resources in the memorial fund have been exhausted, it shall be the discretion of the Board of Directors whether to continue to fund this recognition or discontinue the recognition.